Reiki is a Japanese word for Universal Life Force Energy. The definition for Reiki is universal, transcendental spirit, power, and essence. The word Rei means the universal, boundless aspect of this energy and ki is vital force energy which flows through all living beings.

Reiki is a Japanese spiritual practice that is used for treating a number of different diseases. These diseases can be emotional, mental, or physical. The practice was first created in the 20th century by Mikao Usui. His followers said that after a few weeks of fasting, he acquired the ability to heal without losing any of his energy. When Reiki is performed, the practitioners believe that by the laying on of hands, they will be able to access channels of energy. This energy is called “Ki.” These practitioners say that they will be given guidance by spirits that are called “Rei,” and it is these two terms that give the practice its name.

How Does It Work?

How Does It Work? Reiki is a “laying on of hands” healing. Reiki today is an energy technique that is passed along from Reiki masters to initiates. The Reiki masters themselves don’t understand how it works. They can only describe it as a linking with the cosmic radiant energy, an opening of chakras, or an attunement with universal life energy.

The energy centers, known as charkas, are opened to enabling the person to channel higher amounts of universal Life Force. “Once the chakras are opened the universal energy is channeled to flow freely. The energy enters through the crown chakra of the healer it passes through the upper energy centers, the heart, and solar plexus then pass throughout he arms and hands to the recipient. So the practitioner and the patient both are treated.

What Can Be Treated With Reiki

Problems like: multiple sclerosis, heart diseases, and cancer as well as skin problems, cuts, bruises, broken bones, headaches, colds, flu, sore throat, sunburn, fatigue, insomnia, impotence, poor memory, lack of confidence etc.

Levels Of Reiki

There are Three levels of Reiki.

  1. First Degree – The first level is the basic level. Anyone can learn to perform Reiki at Level 1. This is an initiation stage where the student is introduced to the concept of universal energy. The main focus here is on opening the channels of energy. This attunement brings the student into the realm of Reiki and its uses. This is also the level at which the student heals himself only.
  2. Second Degree – This level is at least four times more powerful than Reiki I. In the second level, the student is introduced to the methods for self-healing and others as well. Students also receive symbols at this level. These symbols are the power symbol, the mental symbol and, the distance symbol. These are used to allow the practitioners to connect on a deeper level to the universal energy.
  3. Third Degree – The third level has two levels:
  •        Level 3 A
  •         Level 3 B

Level 3 A – A person attuned to this level is called a ‘Master Healer’. This level is at least 10 times more powerful than the second level. At this level, a healer is capable of sending Reiki by thought alone. During the cleansing process after this attunement, the channel might experience a variety of things. Since this degree causes spiritual healing, it causes some people to have strange dreams, remember past life experiences, or resolve long-standing fears.

Level 3 B – This level is also called the Master level. After being attuned to this degree, a person can attune others to Reiki degrees 1 and 2. Typically, in most lineages, this degree is not asked for but offered by the teacher. If and when a teacher finds that the channel has reached a satisfactory emotional, mental and spiritual level, he/ she offers mastership to the student.